Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital Icon Minnesota Legislature
NOTICE The Legislative Coordinating Commission Office on the Economic Status of Women is not currently staffed. As a result, with the exception of the CPI tables used in calculating cost of living adjustments, this website is not being updated. 12/14/2018

Women in the Minnesota Legislature
by Legislative Session

These listings include the number of women in each session, the houses in which they served, and their legislative district and party affiliation. Footnotes at the end of each session explain resignations and special elections and are in order of election. The first number under "Number of Women" is the number of women elected in the general election preceding each biennium. Any numbers in parentheses below that reflect changes in this number due to special elections.

Legislators were elected on nonpartisan ballots from 1913 until the 1974 House election and the 1976 Senate election. However, during this time legislators campaigned and caucused by party. The following party abbreviations are used in the listings:

DFL - Democratic Farmer Labor
FL - Farmer Labor
I - Independentor Independence
IR - Independent Republican
R - Republican

Since women became eligible for election, the number of Minnesota Senate members has been 67. The number of Minnesota House members was 131 when women were first eligible for election. That number rose to 135 in 1963 and decreased to 134 in 1973. Since women have been elected to the Minnesota Legislature, House terms have been two years and Senate terms have been four years, except for the years following redistricting. Prior to the 1973 session, the Minnesota Legislature met every other year, except for special sessions. Since that time sessions have been held each year of the biennium.

Women in the Minnesota Legislature by Year(s) Elected is a chronological listing that includes the years they were elected, the houses in which they served, and the counties they represented.